The Good Oil

The talk of the town at the moment are the new oil based hair serums on the market.

Over the next few weeks I will review the best and give you my picks.

Kerastase Elixir Ultime RRP $48

My stylist used some on my freshly cut and colored ‘do this week. It’s a fragrant (perfect for the season, like warm vanilla, amber and cloves) multi-purpose blend of oils. Argan oil helps revitalise and reinforce the follicle while maize oil promotes nutrition and shine. Pracaxi oil softens and smoothes and camellia oil delivers shine and softness.

The Reds team have been using it on their clients in a variety of ways — as a pre-shampoo treatment for dry and coarse hair, as a prep before blow drying to defrizz and add shine, as a styling serum on dry hair to smooth out flyaways and dry ends, and some of them have also been using it before colour treatments to achieve a more even result on porous or damaged hair.

After my trim and colour, the stylist squeezed a few pumps into her hands and worked them through my hair from roots to ends before blow drying. When all was said and done, I felt like a hair model! My familiar mop was transformed into a luxuriously soft and shiny coat.

Yes, Kerastase Elixir Ultime is on the pricier side but DEFINITELY WORTH IT. My stylist say’s she uses it every day and it has lasted a year! A little goes a long way! It is also great for long term hair health as well.

User tips: Ensure you apply to the midlengths and ends first then you can spread the remainder over the top of your hair closer to the roots.

