Product review: Moroccan Oil

With all the hype around this product, you’ve probably heard of Moroccan Oil and its key ingredient, argan oil, already. Derived from kernels from the argan tree found only in Morocco, argan oil has been hailed as a new wonder oil in the hair and cosmetic industry. Recognised as one of the first and best of the hair oil products on the market, Moroccan oil claims to completely transform and repair hair, absorbing instantly to fill gaps in hair created by heat, styling and environmental damage.

 

The big question is, does this product actually deserve all this attention? We asked, Gemma, a Reds client to test Moroccan Oil to see if it really lives up to its reputation:

 

“I have dark, thick and very curly hair. I have always had trouble preventing dryness and frizz, and often avoided even washing my hair because it becomes so dry and unmanageable. Diana, my Reds stylist, recommend I use Moroccan oil after washing and conditioning to try and control my out of control hair. I apply a small amount to clean, towel-dried hair, from mid-length to ends and then either blow-dry or let my hair dry naturally.

I can honestly say I am so happy with the results. Because of the dryness of my hair I use the product every day and it is a lifesaver! It makes my hair so soft and manageable and defines my curls really beautifully. It’s also moisturised my scalp so I no longer have itchy dryness or flaking. It means that my hair doesn’t go crazy every time I wash it and I can easily style it without drying it out.

I love the smell, which is really sweet, but it fades quickly so don’t be put off if the scent isn’t for you. I ran out recently for a couple of days and I could instantly see my hair reverting to its wild ways. Luckily I’m all stocked up again and my hair is back to its best. I love this product and highly recommend it!”

 

Happily, Gemma’s experience isn’t unique. The net is littered with glowing reviews for Moroccan Oil.

 

However Moroccan Oil isn’t for all hair types. While it can work wonders on dark hair, we recommend using another oil for fine, sensitised or very blonde hair, such as L’Oreal Mythic Oil or Kerastase Elixir Ultime.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If these results sound like what you’ve been looking for these products are available at Reds now. Ask your Reds stylist for your personalised prescription.

Leave a Reply

